Back to overview

Summit for Democracy 2023 and Regional Programmes Announced

From 28 to 30 March 2023, the Second Summit for Democracy will be held. The full agenda can be found here.

On 28 March, the U.S. Government will host a variety of Cabinet- and Sub-Cabinet- level thematic events to spotlight key Summit themes. Please refer to the Regional Programmes listed below.

On 29 March, the Summit for Democracy’s five co-hosts — the United States, Costa Rica, Netherlands, Republic of Korea, and Zambia — will officially kick off the Summit, with each co-host leader hosting a live, fully virtual, thematic, Leader-level plenary session. Plenaries will be interspersed with “spotlight interventions” by leading activists and civil society figures.

On 30 March, each of the Summit for Democracy’s five co-host countries will lead an in-person or hybrid minister-level regional gathering on a core Summit theme with representatives from government, civil society, and the private sector. On 28 March, the U.S. Government will host a variety of Cabinet- and Sub-Cabinet- level thematic events to spotlight key Summit themes. Please refer to the Regional Programmes listed below.

29 March 2023: Plenary Day

Disclaimer: The agenda of the Plenary Day may be subject to change. All times are listed in Central European Time (CET). Please refer to the Summit for Democracy 2023 webpage of the U.S. Department of State for more information. You can rewatch the events on YouTube.

12:00 CET – Joint Opening Remarks

  • President Joseph R. Biden of the United States, President Rodrigo Chaves Robles of Costa Rica, President Hakainde Hichilema of the Republic of Zambia, Prime Minister Mark Rutte of the Netherlands, and President Yoon Suk Yeol of the Republic of Korea
  • Remarks by UN Secretary General Antonio Guterres

12:10 CET – Leader-level Plenary on Democracy Delivering Economic Growth and Shared Prosperity

Hosted by President YoonRepublic of Korea


  • Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis of Greece
  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi of India
  • President José Ramos-Horta of Timor-Leste
  • Prime Minister Georgia Meloni of Italy
  • President William Ruto of Kenya
  • President Mokgweetsi Masisi of Botswana
  • Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu of Israel
  • Prime Minister Andrej Plenković of Croatia

13:30 CET – Spotlight Interventions by civil society groups and figures

  • Global Democracy Coalition – Voices of Democracy
  • Jewher Ilham, Worker Rights Consortium, Uyghur rights advocate

13:40 CET – Leader-level Plenary on Democracy Delivering Justice for All

Hosted by Prime Minister RutteNetherlands


  • Prime Minister Kishida Fumio of Japan
  • Prime Minister Mohammed S. Al-Sudani of Iraq
  • Prime Minister Ulisses Correia e Silva of Cabo Verde
  • President Egils Levits of Latvia
  • Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley of Barbados
  • President Adama Barrow of The Gambia
  • President Luis Lacalle Pou of Uruguay
  • Prime Minister James Marape of Papua New Guinea

15:00 CET – Spotlight Interventions by civil society groups and figures

  • Democracy Cohorts: Civil Society Declaration of Principles
  • Bryan Stevenson, Executive Director, Equal Justice Initiative

15:10 CET – Leader-level Plenary on Democracy Delivering Strong Institutions

Hosted by President HichilemaZambia


  • Prime Minister Ulf Kristersson of Sweden
  • Prime Minister Rishi Sunak of the United Kingdom
  • Prime Minister Philip Davis of The Bahamas
  • Chancellor Olaf Scholz of Germany
  • President Vjosa Osmani of Kosovo
  • President Gustavo Petro of Colombia
  • President Emmanuel Macron of France
  • Prime Minister Katrín Jakobsdóttir of Iceland

17:15 CET – Spotlight Interventions by leading civil society groups and figures

  • Global Democracy Coalition – Driving Democracy Forward
  • Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya, leader of the democratic opposition, and Natalia Pinchuk, wife of imprisoned Nobel Laureate Ales Bialiatski, Belarus.

17:30 CET – Leader-level Plenary on Democracy Delivering on Global Challenges

Hosted by President BidenUnited States


  • President Zuzana Čaputová of Slovakia
  • President Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera of Malawi
  • President Volodymyr Zelenskyy of Ukraine
  • President Guillermo Lasso Mendoza of Ecuador
  • President Maia Sandu of Moldova
  • President Mohamed Bazoum of Niger
  • Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen of Denmark
  • President Laurentino Cortizo Cohen of Panama

18:50 CET – Spotlight Interventions by leading civil society figures

  • Feliciano Reyna, Executive President, Acción Solidaria, Venezuela
  • Lesther Aleman, youth leader and former political prisoner, Nicaragua

19:00 CET – Leader-level Plenary on Democracy Delivering Inclusion and Equality

Hosted by President ChavesCosta Rica


  • President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih of Maldives
  • Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal of Nepal
  • President Sauli Niinistö of Finland
  • President Ursula von der Leyen of the European Commission
  • President Hage G. Geingob of Namibia
  • President Gitanas Nausėda of Lithuania
  • Prime Minister Justin Trudeau of Canada
  • President Macky Sall of Senegal
  • Prime Minister Kaja Kallas of Estonia
  • President Andrés Manuel López Obrador of Mexico

Regional Programmes

More information on and agendas for the regional gatherings are available below:

  1. Costa Rica: Promoting the Role of Youth in Political and Democratic Spaces
  2. The Netherlands: Media Freedom as a Cornerstone of Democracy (in Dutch)
  3. The Republic of Korea: Challenges and Progress in Addressing Corruption
  4. The Republic of Zambia: Free, Fair, and Transparent Elections as the Foundation of Democratic Governance
  5. United States: Advancing Technology for Democracy